Connect with us


A walk on M3nsa’s ‘No.1 Mango Street’ + Hot video for ‘No One Knows’



‘No.1 Mango Street’, the hugely anticipated album from 2010 MOBO nominee M3nsa continues to make waves with following its February 14 release. The album which conveys the many musical influences of one of Ghana’s number one beat maker of Soul, Hip-hop, Afro beat and High-Life has enjoyed critical acclaim and is also on the verge of commercial success worldwide.

An unusual album title from a not so usual artist, ‘No.1 Mango Street’ reflects the journey of M3nsa, as an individual growing up in Ghana and London, and traveling around the globe as an artist.  “I talk about going back to pick up from where I left things, and where everything started. It’s about acknowledging exactly where I come from and bringing all those experiences with me”, he comments.

The latest single from the album, ‘No One Knows’ portrays M3nsa’s belief in enjoying the present to the fullest while conscious and prepared for what the future may bring. The colourful video shot by Ghanaian filmmaker Sam A Kessie matches the Nigerian singer, Asa’s sampled song – pragmatic and optimistic in tone.

The song ‘Dream’ couldn’t be better accompanied than with its atmospheric synths and a singing M3NSA musing on the wholesome values closest to his heart – friends, family, joy and love amongst them. A lone hypnotic horn creates a delightful contrast between live and electronic elements.

The playful seduction of ‘Kelewele Pimpin’, a song that uses a popular Ghanaian snack of fried plantain reminds us of his funny side. A side we came to know and love on the hilarious, internationally acclaimed short film known as the world’s first pidgin musical Coz Ov Moni, which he did not only conceptualise and co-star in with fellow FOKN Bois (Wanlov the Kubolor), but also produced most of the soundtrack.

Coz Ov Moni partly inspired ‘No. 1 Mango Street’, the ode to his birth place, as well as his life in London where he enjoys the unique global positioning that cosmopolitan city allows. With snatches of Twi and Pidgen, the clever rhyme schemes and narratives are what make this album universally relatable. M3nsa comments, “You don’t have to be into African Hip-hop to listen to the album, you just have to be into music.”

M3nsa’s decade long production history kick-started with songs he crafted for the legendary founder of Hip-Life, Reggie Rockstone.  His journey since has been not short of amazing, with sold-out shows and collaborations with top acts such as The Roots live at the Royal Festival Hall, playing alongside Little Brother, The Gorillaz, Tony Allen, Damon Albarn and Amadou and Mariam.

Track Listing

1. No.1 Mango Street feat. Ryan Ansah

2. AfroFunkin’

3. Adjuma

4. Anaa?

5. Biribi W’om (We Don’t Know) feat. Samini

6. We Go Rock

7. Fanti Love Song

8. Asɛm Pa feat Samini

9. No one Knows

10. Kelewele Pimpin’

11. Dream (Misuudɛi)

12. Yɛn Kɔ’oo (Let’s Go!)

13. Anoma feat Cage

14. BRKN LNGWJZ feat Wanlov the Kubolor (F.O.K.N Bois)