Connect with us


Dbanj misses out on MTV EMA Worldwide Act award



Africa’s rep in the MTV MTV EMA Worldwide Act award, Dbanj is out of the competition as MTV  today announced the final five nominees vying for the Worldwide Act distinction at the “2012 MTV EMA.” For the past six weeks, MTV has given fans around the world a chance to vote for their favourite hometown artists, all to help that local act secure the nomination and earn a chance to represent their respective region at this year’s EMA. More than 160 artists from every corner of the world have enjoyed the MTV EMA spotlight as part of the Worldwide Act voting competition, and finally the final five Worldwide Act nominees are revealed as: Dima Bilan (Europe); Han Geng (Asia Pacific); Ahmed Soultan (Africa/India/Middle East); Rihanna (North America); and Restart (Latin America).  Starting today, these five artists will go head to head in one last round of voting in the Worldwide Act category, which celebrates the range and breadth of all the music that MTV has to offer across the globe. Hosted by supermodel, entrepreneur and hometown girl Heidi Klum, the 19th annual MTV EMA will broadcast live from Frankfurt’s historic Festhalle on Sunday 11 November at 22:00 CAT on MTV channels around the world.  The “2012 MTV EMA” will feature incredible performances by Taylor Swift, Muse, No Doubt, Carly Rae Jepsen, fun., Rita Ora, Alicia Keys, Pitbull, The Killers and Psy. Fans can vote for Worldwide Act and other EMA categories by visiting online.  Voting for EMA categories is open now until 12:59PM CAT on Friday 9 November 2012.  The Worldwide Act winner will be announced at the show in Frankfurt.]]>