Connect with us


Dr. Edem Mahu receives the 2022 AGU “Africa Award for Research Excellence in Ocean Sciences”



Dr. Edem Mahu from the University of Ghana, has received the “Africa Award for Research Excellence in Ocean Sciences” from AGU.

She joins the list of 35 others who received AGU’s highest honors for their excellence in scientific research, education, communication, and outreach.

These honorees—scientists, leaders, educators, journalists, and communicators—have made outstanding achievements and contributions by pushing forward the frontiers of our science. Each recipient embodies our shared vision of a thriving, sustainable, and equitable future powered by discovery, innovation, and action. These recipients have worked with integrity, respect, and collaboration while creating deep engagement in education, diversity, and outreach.


AGU will formally recognize this year’s recipients during the #AGU22 Fall Meeting. This celebration is a chance for us to recognize the outstanding work of our colleagues and be inspired by their accomplishments and stories. We will share additional details about the event at

Find list of honourees below;


William Bowie Medal
David J. Stevenson, California Institute of Technology

John Adam Fleming Medal
Dennis V. Kent, Lamont Doherty Earth Observatory of Columbia University

Walter H. Bucher Medal
Seth Stein, Northwestern University


Maurice Ewing Medal
Ana Christina Ravelo, University of California, Santa Cruz

Robert E. Horton Medal
Efi Foufoula-Georgiou, University of California, Irvine

Harry H. Hess Medal
Janne Blichert-Toft, École Normale Superieure de Lyon and Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique

Roger Revelle Medal
Dennis L. Hartmann, University of Washington Seattle


Inge Lehmann Medal
Stephen P. Grand, University of Texas at Austin

Charles A. Whitten Medal
Roger Bilham, University of Colorado Boulder

Eunice Newton Foote Medal for Earth-Life Science
Marilyn Fogel, University of California, Riverside

Joanne Simpson Medal for Mid-Career Scientists
Yafang Cheng, Max Planck Institute for Chemistry
Ankur R. Desai, University of Wisconsin–Madison
Yue Deng, University of Texas at Arlington


James B. Macelwane Medal
Jessica Creveling, Oregon State University
Pierre Gentine, Columbia University
Lars N. Hansen, University of Minnesota Twin Cities
Scott Jasechko, University of California, Santa Barbara
Zhongwen Zhan, California Institute of Technology

Devendra Lal Memorial Medal
Roxy Mathew Koll, Indian Institute of Tropical Meteorology

Read also: Aviance Ghana promises outstanding service with Brussels Airline partnership


Ambassador Award
Katharine Hayhoe, Texas Tech University
Toshio Koike, International Centre for Water Hazard and Risk Management (ICHARM), Public Works Research Institute (PWRI)
Marino Protti, Observatorio Vulcanológico y Sismológico de Costa Rica, Universidad Nacional (OVSICORI-UNA)
Roger S. Pulwarty, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Mary A. Voytek, NASA

Edward A. Flinn III Award
Former U.S. Geological Survey Hydrogeophysics Branch (Martin A. Briggs, Cian B. Dawson, Carole D. Johnson, John W. Lane, and John H. Williams)


William Kaula Award
Sue Trumbore, Max Planck Institute for Biogeochemistry

Waldo E. Smith Award
Ellen S. Kappel, Geosciences Professional Services, Inc.

Charles S. Falkenberg Award
Angelia Seyfferth, University of Delaware

International Award
Sarath K. Guttikunda, Urban Emissions, India


Excellence in Earth and Space Science Education Award
Valerie Sloan, National Center for Atmospheric Research

Africa Award for Research Excellence in Ocean Sciences
Edem Mahu, University of Ghana

Science for Solutions Award
Noemi Vergopolan, Princeton University and NOAA Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory

Walter Sullivan Award for Excellence in Science Journalism – Features
Gregory Barber, WIRED


David Perlman Award for Research Excellence in Science Journalism – News
Robin George Andrews, Freelance science journalist


Asahiko Taira International Scientific Ocean Drilling Research Prize
Hiroko Kitajima, Texas A&M University College Station

Climate Communication Prize
A. Scott Denning, Colorado State University

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *