Connect with us


GENESIS OWUSU Releases Acclaimed New Album ‘STRUGGLER’




Genesis Owusu just released his highly anticipated and acclaimed sophomore album, STRUGGLER today via OURNESS / AWAL. The album is a bold soundtrack to uncertain times and features widely acclaimed singles “Leaving the Light,” “Tied Up!” and “Stay Blessed.” STRUGGLER can be heard here:

After launching onto the global map with his critically acclaimed debut album,Smiling with No Teeth, Owusu now steps forth with STRUGGLER; an 11-track narrative journey which Owusu simply states is “a story about a Roach, that runs and runs, trying not to get stepped on by God.” Steeped in mystery and metaphor, the story is a celebration of the inspiring stubbornness of the human will to survive. “Through pandemics, bushfires and wars, we’re still going to find a way to make it to tomorrow, and I think that’s beautiful,” says Owusu. After doing his own soul searching, Owusu combed his eclectic taste to form a cohesive, concept-driven project where post-punk blends poetry, theater, garage rock, funk rock, hip-hop and heavy soul. Partly inspired by Owusu’s readings of philosopher Albert Camus, novelist Franz Kafka and Samuel Beckett’s Waiting for Godot, the record paints a portrait using genres like shades of paint, freely exploring topics of resilience, hope, doubt, as well as the most basic of human questions: what’s the point?

Owusu also collaborated with globally-celebrated Aotearoa New Zealand artist, Lisa Reihana, on STRUGGLER’s complete visual identity. Having been showcased in elite institutions throughout the US and EU, including the Venice Biennale for her critically-acclaimed video installation, In Pursuit of Venus [Infected], Reihana’s work spans a diverse range of mediums. From film, to costume and body adornment, plus video installation, Reihana has rightfully earned a reputation as a world-renowned artist and producer, engaging in thought-provoking dialogues around the concept of culture.

Owusu is set to bring his vibrant live show to North America this fall for a headline tour in support of STRUGGLER. The tour follows his arena dates this spring supporting Paramore. He has also previously given notable performances at North American festivals including Lollapalooza, Austin City Limits, Boston Calling, Osheaga Festival and This Ain’t No Picnic, as well as Barcelona’s Primavera Sound and Australia’s Splendour in the Grass. He also played support dates with Glass Animals, Khruangbin and Thundercat in the US and Tame Impala in Australia. Tickets are available via


One of Australia’s most-celebrated recent albums, Smiling With No Teeth demonstrated the beginning of Owusu’s profound artistic revolution and soul-bearing expression. The album secured radio support from NPR stations across the US (KCRW, KEXP, WXPN and more) and BBC Radio along with being named Australia’s triple j “Album of the Year” and winning four ARIA award titles including “Album of the Year.” Global acclaim also came from tastemakers and critics alike, including Los Angeles Times, AV Club, KCRW, Paste, The Needle Drop, BET, American Songwriter, OkayPlayer, and many more. Owusu additionally saw his album track, “Gold Chains,” included in President Obama’s Favorite Music of 2021, and he made his late night debut performing the song on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert. He followed the album with his Missing Molars EP and acclaimed standalone singles in 2022 – “GTFO” and “Get Inspired.”


1. Leaving The Light

2. The Roach


3. The Old Man

4. See Ya There

5. Freak Boy

6. Tied Up!


7. That’s Life (A Swamp)

8. Balthazar

9. Stay Blessed

10. What Comes Will Come


11. Stuck To The Fan

You want to bet with the best odds on every football match? shows you the highest odds for all important games.