Connect with us






J Hus—the darling of UK rap—releases his much-anticipated third album, Beautiful and Brutal Yard. The album features a stellar line up of collaborators including Drake, Burna Boy, Popcaan, Jorja Smith, CB, Naira Marley, Villzand Boss Belly. Get Beautiful and Brutal Yard HERE.

After a three-year hiatus, the London rapper and global superstar set the scene alight recently with his single “It’s Crazy” which earned him a Top 15 across the Official UK Singles Charts. A mere few weeks later, he came with the explosive “Who Told You” Ft. Drakewhich earned him the biggest first week streams of 18 million worldwide and landed at #2 across the Official UK Singles Charts. Just yesterday, he shared “Militerian” ft. Naira Marley alongside an electrifying music video.

For anyone that might have missed him jumping on stage for Burna Boy’s show recently, J Hus also gifted fans with the announce of his tour a few weeks back which will see him play at Dublin’s 3Arena October 28th and end with two dates at London’s The O2 November 5th& 6th. Full details below.



Anticipation for Beautiful and Brutal Yard has been at a fever pitch. Named after the patois influenced slang term for home, the title is a reference to the two sides of Hus and his heart. It follows J Hus’ sophomore effort Big Conspiracy – one of 2020’s most critically lauded albums world-wide, which netted him a BRIT Award for Best British Male. His 2017 debut studio album Common Sense cemented him as a rap champ and innovator; and in between both albums, he nabbed multiple features on from some of the music industry’s biggest artists, such as Ed Sheeran, Stormzy, Skepta, and Dave.


Beautiful and Brutal Yard continues to cement his status as one of the most talented in the game across its 19 tracks. The P2J produced “Massacre” is big boss, beach side music. “Palm Trees” has a sultry late-night feel over lightly plucked acoustic guitar. On “Masculine,” Hus is joined by Burna Boy – marking another legendary link-up for the pair after their run of iconic moments: on “Play Play” from Big Conspiracy and “Cloak & Dagger” from Burna Boy’s 2022 album Love, Damini. On this one they go verse for verse, shuffling warmly back and forth across the beat.



These show stopping collaborations are packed across Beautiful and Brutal Yard. All testament to the multiple worlds Hus straddles with his critically acclaimed, genre-fusing music. Drill king CB pops up on the high-octane, manic collaboration, “Cream,” which marks new sonic territory for Hus. As does Gambia to Nigeria link-up with fellow superstar artist Naira Marley on “Militarian.” Landing firmly in Lagos’ summer heat, it’s another example of how Hus transports listeners. The title is a reference to the spiritual ethos that’s been imbued in the content of his music since day one. “They know we’re an African badman / anywhere we go we gotta stand strong”, he breathes, “when they ask me where I come from / I tell them straight, I’m an African.Hus then goes on to mention how he shares that kinship with afro-bashment legend Naira: “Nigerian / Gambian / Militarian / Marlian”. Jorja Smith pops up on slowed down heater “Nice Body” – a track about sticking with one another toward the future and an end goal. “I know you’ve got some trauma that you’re hiding / life is rough, but we’re surviving “ sings Jorja, with the pair joining in showstopping unison before the end of the verse, ultimately finishing each other’s lines as Hus strolls back into view. Elsewhere, Popcaan is beamed down from space to bring a high-pitched, laser-canon vocal to the terminally warped, psychedelic stomper “Killy.” It’s one of the album’s most trippy moments – built, as Poppy references, for sipping “Remy”. Those other-worldly vibes continue on “BimBim” – a track that’s illustrated with haunting vocals that seem to emerge in unison from the grave, somewhere behind the clouds, or the next life.


For Hus, all roads lead back to the music. Look close at the album title Beautiful and Brutal Yard and spot the acronym: baby. Whether it’s brutal, beautiful or shuffling somewhere between the two, music is Hus’ baby. On his third studio album, this has never been more clear and present. The stage is set. The man has many names – Uju Militer, The Farda, Ezmalay, The Ugliest (so named after his clothing brand of the same name). But there’s only one J Hus.

Beautiful and Brutal Yard:

  1. Intro (THE GOAT)
  2. Massacre
  3. Who Told You ft. Drake
  4. Militerian ft. Naira Marley
  5. Palm Tree
  6. Nice Body ft. Jorja Smith
  7. Masculine ft. Burna Boy
  8. Come Look
  9. Cream ft. CB
  10. Comeback ft. Villz
  11. Alien Girl
  12. Fresh Water/Safa Kara
  13. My Baby
  14. Problem Fixer
  15. Killy ft. Popcaan
  16. It’s Crazy
  17. Bim Bim
  18. Come Gully Bun (Gambian President) ft. Boss Belly
  19. Playing Chess


J Hus Tour October 2023

October 28th – Dublin, IE – 3Arena

October 30th – Glasgow, UK – OVO Hydro

November 1st – Manchester, UK – AO Arena


November 2nd – Birmingham, UK – Utilita Arena

November 5th – London, UK – The O2

November 6th – London, UK – The O2    

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You want to bet with the best odds on every football match? shows you the highest odds for all important games.