Connect with us


J Hus x Burna Boy release “Masculine” music video




Following a three-year hiatus, J Hus’ third studio album Beautiful and Brutal Yard recently stormed in and claims the #1 spot across The Official Albums Chart in the UK with over 130M album streams to-date. The universally acclaimed 19-track body of work was recently nominated for the 2023 Mercury Prize for the best British album of the year, which earns Hus his second nomination overall. To add to the excitement, today J Hus shares the latest visuals taken from the universally acclaimed album, “Masculine” ft. Burna BoyB.A.B.Y.’s second most streamed track thus far.


Anyone that might have missed him jumping on stage for Burna Boy’s recent London Stadium show is in luck: the visuals for “Masculine,” which was shot by Nathan Miller entirely in black and white, gives us a glimpse of how it went down backstage and during the lively performance itself. Watch HERE.
Named after the patois influenced slang term for home, Beautiful and Brutal Yard is a reference to the two sides of Hus and his heart. It follows J Hus’ sophomore effort Big Conspiracy – one of 2020’s most critically lauded albums world-wide, which netted him a BRIT Award for Best British Male. His 2017 debut studio album Common Sense cemented him as a rap champ and innovator; and in between both albums, he nabbed multiple features on from some of the music industry’s biggest artists, such as Ed Sheeran, Stormzy, Skepta, and Dave.



Beautiful and Brutal Yard is already one of the year’s most celebrated albums. Besides receiving a Mercury Prize nomination just two weeks after release, the album continues to receive glowing reviews and high praise. The New York Times named it one of their “Favorite Albums of 2023 So Far” on a recent episode of the podcast Popcast, while NPR proclaimed that Hus sounds “like he is really poised to blow up state-side with this record.” HotNewHipHop proclaimed that he delivered “The Soundtrack To Summer 2023while NME dubbed the album “a joyous return.” The FADER described how “the energy on Beautiful and Brutal Yard is the kind that emerges when your biggest competitor is yourself” while Billboard announced “J Hus returns with a vengeance. Uproxx perhaps summed it up best: “Hus uses his third album to provide a vivid and detailed account of his roots and upbringing, giving equal attention to all that’s beautiful and brutal. This duality contributes to everything on the album: its sonic appeal, the thrill of J Hus’ narratives, and the rapper’s overall artistic vision.” Further, Barack Obama picked hit single “Who Told You” ft. Drake as the #1 song on his “Favorite Songs of Summer 2023” list.


For Hus, all roads lead back to the music. Look close at the album title Beautiful and Brutal Yard and spot the acronym: baby. Whether it’s brutal, beautiful, or shuffling somewhere between the two, music is Hus’ baby. On his third studio album, this has never been more clear and present. The stage is set. The man has many names – Uju Militer, The Farda, Ezmalay, The Ugliest (so named after his clothing brand of the same name). But there’s only one J Hus.

Beautiful and Brutal Yard:

  1. Intro (THE GOAT)
  2. Massacre
  3. Who Told You ft. Drake
  4. Militerian ft. Naira Marley
  5. Palm Tree
  6. Nice Body ft. Jorja Smith
  7. Masculine ft. Burna Boy
  8. Come Look
  9. Cream ft. CB
  10. Comeback ft. Villz
  11. Alien Girl
  12. Fresh Water/Safa Kara
  13. My Baby
  14. Problem Fixer
  15. Killy ft. Popcaan
  16. It’s Crazy
  17. Bim Bim
  18. Come Gully Bun (Gambian President) ft. Boss Belly
  19. Playing Chess
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You want to bet with the best odds on every football match? shows you the highest odds for all important games.