Connect with us

Radio & TV

R&B Supergroup Xscape to receive ‘Lady Of Soul’ honor at the “Soul Train Awards” 2022]



BET has announced that Kandi” Burruss-Tucker, Tameka “Tiny” Harris, Tamika Scott and LaTocha Scott of legendary, multiplatinum-selling R&B supergroup Xscape will collectively receive the ‘Lady of Soul’ honor at “Soul Train Awards” 2022, the feel good party of the year. Xscape emerged on the scene in the ‘90s with a sound of their own. With hit songs like “Just Kickin’ It,” “Understanding,” and “The Arms of the One Who Loves You,” the powerhouse group took the industry by storm with their amazing harmonies and industry-defining sounds. Hosted by actor, comedian, and writer Deon Cole, “Soul Train Awards” 2022 premieres Monday, 28 November at 02:00 WAT / 03:00 CAT on BET, DStv Channel 129. Repeats will air on the same day at 18:30 WAT / 19:30 CAT. 

“Given how important Soul Train is to all of us, we’re so thankful to be honored with the ‘Lady of Soul’ Award this year,” said the ladies of Xscape. “It’s going to be an amazing night, and we can’t wait to see you all there.” 


“Xscape is one of the most notable R&B supergroups of all time. Their powerful vocal harmonies laid the foundation for ‘90s R&B and some of today’s chart-topping hits,” said Connie Orlando, EVP Specials, Music Programming & Music Strategy. “Their sound is undeniably unique and masterful. We look forward to honoring these multi-talented artists collectively on R&B’s biggest stage, Soul Train Awards.” 


Xscape united four show-stopping voices and powerhouse personalities as one R&B force of nature unlike anything the world had seen, heard, or felt before. The iconic Georgia quartet—“Kandi” Burruss-Tucker, Tameka “Tiny” Harris, and sisters LaTocha and Tamika Scott—have sold millions of records, notched six Top 10 hits on the Billboard charts, packed arenas across the country, and inspired generations of artists. Their influence can be felt throughout the culture with instantly recognizable smashes such as “Just Kickin’ It,” “Who Can I Run Into, and “My Little Secret” across a trio of platinum-certified albums—Hummin’ Comin’ at ‘Cha,Off the Hook, and Traces of My Lipstick. Beyond gracing the soundtracks of box office hits The Mask, Big Momma’s House,Hardball, Love Jones, and Soul Food, their music is sampled in 21st-century bangers by the likes of 21 Savage, Summer Walker,Anderson .Paak, The Game, Trey Songz, and more. After launching successful and prolific solo careers in music, film, fashion, business, and beyond, Xscape returned to ignite audiences everywhere on The Great Xscape Tour in 2017, selling out 31 cities. They also starred in BRAVO series Xscape Still Kickin’ It and participated in one of the most-viewed VERZUZ specials of all time, squaring off against SWV. Maintaining this momentum, 2022 saw them light up Mary J. Blige’s inaugural Strength of a WomanFestival.  


BET Soul joins “Soul Train Awards” 2022 celebration by dedicating a full hour to a collection of Xscape music videos. Watch many of their iconic music videos, including Lady of Soul list of songs on October 28, at 22:00 PM WAT PM. Check local listings. 

Beyoncé and Mary J. Blige lead “Soul Train Awards” 2022 nominations with an impressive 7 nods. Ari Lennox garnered the second-highest number of nods with 6 nominations. Lizzo and Chris Brown are tied at 5 nods each, followed by Burna Boy, Muni Long, and Steve Lacy with 4 nods. Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak, Silk Sonic, PJ Morton, and Tems each garnered 3 nominations.   


The “Soul Train Awards” 2022 presented by BET will feature an exciting lineup of unforgettable performances, special moments, and appearances by some of the brightest stars in Black culture and entertainment. The annual event is committed to showcasing the impact of Soul Train on music and dance from the ‘70s to today. 

Connie Orlando, EVP, Specials, Music Programming & Music Strategy will oversee the annual show and Executive Produce for BET with Jamal Noisette, VP, Specials & Music Programming. Jesse Collins, CEO of Jesse Collins Entertainment, to serve as Executive Producer of “Soul Train Awards” 2022 along with Jesse Collins Entertainment’s Jeannae Rouzan–Clay and Dionne Harmon. 

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You want to bet with the best odds on every football match? shows you the highest odds for all important games.