Connect with us


Recouping Bebe Cool wins top honours at PAMs



Singer Bebe Cool climbed atop the Ugandan music industry on Saturday, November 6, when he was crowned the 2010 Pearl of Africa Music (PAM) Awards ‘Artiste of the Year’. He is currently in the US receiving treatment for the injuries he sustained when he was shot in the legs in February.

The singer on Saturday beat his rivals Bobi Wine, Jose Chameleone and the Goodlyfe boys (Mowzey Radio and Weasel) to become what he already calls himself: ‘king of the jungle, big size, munene munene’.

This marked the end of Julianna Kanyomozi’s reign; she was crowned in 2008 before the awards suffered setbacks last year. Bebe Cool had been nominated several times for this coveted prize but while Chameleone and Bobi Wine went on to claim it, he had not been as lucky, prompting several tantrums. Last year, at the peak of the awards crisis, Bebe Cool threatened to sue the organizers if they dared nominate him. But this win did come as good news to the singer who has had a troubled year. Bebe Cool is set to return to Uganda next month for a big concert that will attract new rapper Sevo.

Bebe Cool reportedly called a UBC TV producer soon after he had been announced winner, requesting for all the footage from the event. He posted on his Facebook wall: “These awards I dedicate to Allah, my mum, H.E Yoweri Kaguta, my wife and kids, brothers and sisters, producers, DJs, friends and fans of Gagamel. No weapon formed against me shall prosper.”

The glitzy award ceremony held at the UMA Showground Lugogo in Kampala saw an even distribution of awards without a single artiste dominating. Most of the artistes were not around to pick their awards. From Jose Chameleone to Bebe Cool, Eddy Kenzo, Aziz Azion, Wilson Bugembe, Rabadaba and Mesach Ssemakula, most of them were performing abroad and within the country.

However, the presence of Rwanda’s Alpha and gospel singer Judith Babirye jazzed up the event. Babirye has over the years snubbed the awards because they were sponsored by a beer company. But since East African Breweries pulled out, Babirye found no reason to shun this year’s awards. She was one of the night’s performers and also walked away with the award for best gospel single for Wanjagala. Wilson Bugembe retained his place as best gospel artiste.

Full list of winners

Northern artiste of the year: Brazen Rule
Western artiste of the year: Rama P
Eastern artiste of the year: Rocky

West Nile artiste of the year: King Weedman
Best hip hop single: Kikankane (GNL Zamba)
Best hip hop artiste: Navio

Best afrobeat single: Basiima Ogenze (Jose Chameleone)
Best afrobeat artiste: Jose Chameleone
Best gospel single: Wanjagala (Judith Babirye)

Best gospel artiste: Wilson Bugembe
Best cultural group: Percussion Discussion Africa
Best folk pop artiste: Suzan Kerunen

Best kadongo kamu single: Embaga Ya Kiwewa (Gerald Kiwewa)
Best kadongo kamu artiste: Mathias Walukagga
Best ragga artiste: Rabadaba

Best reggae artiste: Bebe Cool
Best R&B single: Abakyala Bazira (Jamal)
Best R&B artiste: Aziz Azion

Best live band: Qwela Band
Best live band single: Taliiyo (Messach Ssemakula)
Video of the year: Raw (Navio)

Songwriter of the year: Silver Kyagulanyi
Audio producer: Benon Mugumbya
Best new artiste: Eddy Kenzo

Best Female artiste: Iryn Namubiru
Best Male artiste: Radio & Weasel
Album of the year: Kasepiki (Bebe Cool)

Song of the year: Omukwano Gunyuma (Samalie Matovu)
Artiste of the year: Bebe Cool