Connect with us

There’s no stopping Sarkodie! Check out the COMPLETE list of 2014 Vodafone Ghana Music Awards nominations


There’s no stopping Sarkodie! Check out the COMPLETE list of 2014 Vodafone Ghana Music Awards nominations

sarkodieSarkodie has done it again, topping the Ghana Music Awards nominations list for the third time with his third album, Sarkology. The rapper picked up 8 nominations (minus his appearance on Joey B’s Tonga which also received multiple nominations)  in the 2014 Vodafone Ghana Music Awards which were announced on Saturday night at the Golden Tulip Awards.  Guru also picked up 8 nominations including Producer of the year. Kwabena Kwabena picked up 7 nominations including Male Vocal Performance and Songwriter of The Year. Other multiple nominees include Joyce Blessing, Bisa Kdei, Castro, R2bees, Sonnie Badu.

For me, the nominations largely reflected the music of the past year. I was however disappointed that Bisa KDei was not nominated for Artist of the Year; he was one of the artists who stood out with several good hits in the year under review.  I was also happy that Kumi Guitar was nominated a few times. For me his song ‘1 Litre/ Break In Two’ was the definitive contemporary highlife song of the year. I liked the song the moment I heard it, although I still don’t know what he even looks like. Anyway check out the full list of nominations that were announced. Winners of the following categories will also be known at the industry awards and main award ceremony later in the year: Best Music Video, Instrumentalist of the year, Music for development, Traditional artist of the year, Sound engineer of the year, Lifetime Achievement Award, MUSIGA merit award

Artsite of the Year
Kwabena Kwabena
Sonnie Badu
Shatta Wale

 New Artiste of the Year
Joey B
Kumi Guitar

Highlife Artiste of the Year
Bisa Kdei
Kwabena Kwabena

Gospel Song of the Year
Osoree Nnwom – Cecelia Marfo
Maher-Shalal-Hash-Baz- Nicholas Omane Acheampong
Wonder God – Sonnie Badu
Maye Se Mo Pen – OJ
Nyame Egwamaa – Joyce Blessing feat. Jewel Ackah
Menu – Patience Nyarko

 Best Female Vocal Performance
Efya – Life
Joyce Blessing – Nyame Egwamaa
Miriam Afari – Ashei Nyame
Gena West – No Power Against Me

 Best Male Vocal Performance
Sonnie Badu – Wonder God
OJ- Maye Se Mo Pen
Knii Lante – Baby Take Good Care
Kwabena Kwabena – Engya Me Ho
Castro – Odo Pa

 African Artiste of the Year

 Gospel Artiste of the Year
Sonnie Badu
Nicholas Omane Acheapong
Joyce Blessing
Patience Nyarko

 Hiplife/ Hip Hop Artiste of the Year
Joey B

 Afro Pop Song of the Year
Latext – Edem feat. Kaaki
Million Pound Girl – Fuse ODG
Dance (Neke Neke) – Itz Tiffany
Slow – R2Bees feat. Wizkid
Dance For Ne – Ruff N Smooth

 Highlife Song of the Year
Adult Music – Kwabena Kwabena
Odo Pa – Castro feat. Baby Jet & Kofi Kinaata
Love – R2Bees
Metanfo-  Bisa Kdei
Break Into 2 – Kumi Guitar

 Reggae/Dancehall Song of the Year
Freaky Girl – Jupiter
Pull Up – Stonebwoy
Hot Cake – Pope Skinny feat. Shatta Wale
Dancehall King – Shatta Wale
Fever – D2 feat. Shatta Wale
Scatter Badmind – Samini

 Vodafone Song of the Year
Adult Music – Kwabena Kwabena feat. Samini
Odo Pa – Castro Feat. Baby Jet & Kofi Kinaata
Slow Down – R2Bees Feat. Wizkid
Dancehall King – Shatta Wale
Metanfo – Bisa Kdei
Tonga – Joey B feat. Sarkodie
Maye Se Mo pen – OJ
Akaiyida (Boys Abr3) – Guru
Down On One – Sarkodie feat. Fuse ODG
Million Pound Girl – Fuse ODG

 Record of the Year
Trigmatic – Wo Sika Nti
Knii Lante – Baby Take Good Care
Tseataa (Josh Laryea) – Everlasting Love
Akwaboah – I Do Love You

 Best Collaboration of the Year
Odo Pa – Castro feat. Baby Jet & Kofi Kinaata
Down On One- Sarkodie feat. Fuse ODG
Slow Down – R2Bees feat. Wizkid
Adult Music-Kwabena Kwabena
Azonto Boys-Guru Feat. Lil Win
Hot Cake-Pope Skinny Feat. Shatta Wale
Nyame Egwamaa-Joyce Blessing Feat. Jewel Ackah

 Album of the Year
Sarkology – Sarkodie
Heavy Price- Joyce Blessing
Aroma of Worship – Sonnie Bad
Thanks Giving – Bisa Kdei
Apae – M.anifest
Akaiyida (Boys Abr3) – Guru

 Song Writer of the Year
Maye Se Mo Pen – OJ
Wo Sika Nti – Trigmatic
Engya Me Ho – Kwabena Kwabena
Baby Take Good Care – Knii Lante
Baba – Kisa Kdei

Best Group of the year



Ruff N Smooth


Gospel Album of the Year

Heavy Price – Joyce Blessing

Aroma of Worship –Sonnie Badu

Nokwasem – OJ

Maher Shalal Hash baz – Nicholas O Acheampong

Mekasa Ama Awurade – Patience Nyarko


Hiplife Song of the year

Boys Abre – Guru

Down on One – Sarkodie ft Fuse ODG

Tonga – Joey B ft Sarkodie

3 Points – Gasmila

Anadwo y3 D3 – 4×4


Best Rapper of the year

Sarkodie – Rap Attack

Trigmatic – Wo Sika Nti

M.anfest – Someway Bi

El – See Me Suffer

Guru – Let Me love You

Hip hop song of the year

See Me Suffer – EL ft Lil Shaker

Lies – Sarkodie  ft Lil Shaker

Someway Bi – M.anifest

Marilyn Monroe – DeeMoneey ft Fuse ODG

Me Wi Dollar – Kwaw Kese ft E.L

Producer of the year


Shatta Wale



DJ Breezy

Bisa Kdei

Continue Reading


  1. absaloms Solomon

    April 27, 2014 at 10:33 pm

    Sarkodie adonai dey jom waaa infact Obidi is the best.sArKoLoGy be the iiishhh !!!!!

  2. Pgee swain

    March 4, 2014 at 5:19 pm

    If sarkodie don’t get the best rapper this year then there is corruption

  3. opare

    March 4, 2014 at 11:32 am

    whatels give him all his deserved awards sarkology

  4. sarfo Richmond

    March 3, 2014 at 11:51 pm

    yeah is the man again to pick all the 8 awards that he has been nominated…obidiponbidi.sarkology##

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in Buzz

To Top