Connect with us


World Soundtrack Academy announces first wave of nominees for the 18th #WSAwards



This first wave of the 2018 World Soundtrack Award Nominees includes multiple Academy Award® winners and nominees, the best of contemporary film and television music as well as Pulitzer prize winner Kendrick Lamar and other pop artists. The nominees for Best Film Composer are Academy Award® winners John Williams and Alexandre Desplat, Academy Award® nominees Jóhann Jóhannsson, Jonny Greenwood and Carter Burwell. The Television Composer of the Year nominees include upcoming & popular composers Volker Bertelmann, Ramin Djawadi, Rupert Gregson-Williams, Mac Quayle and Adam Taylor. As previously announced, The Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to Philippe Sarde (‘Tess’, ‘The Tenant’). During the award ceremony, a selection of Carter Burwell’s work (‘Fargo’, ‘Carol’) will be performed by Brussels Philharmonic and conducted by Film Fest Gent’s music director Dirk Brossé and Carter Burwell. The festival will also be releasing the exclusive and unique compilation album with Burwell’s work the same week. Following its yearly tradition the WSAwards invites its last Discovery winner Nicholas Britell (‘Moonlight’,’The Big Short’) to the stage. Film Fest Gent’s artistic director Patrick Duynslaegher about the nominees: “Among this year’s nominations of Best Composer of the Year there’s one name who deserves a special mention: the Icelandic composer Jóhann Jóhannsson who left us too early this year and who’s nominated for no less than five films. His nominations are also a tribute to his talent and his unique voice in film music.” THE NOMINEES ARE: Best Film Composer of the Year Carter Burwell ‘Goodbye Christopher Robin’; ‘Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri’ Alexandre Desplat ‘Endangered Species’; ‘Isle of Dogs’; ‘Suburbicon’; ‘The Shape of Water’; ‘Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets’ Jonny Greenwood ‘Phantom Thread’ Jóhann Jóhannsson ‘Last and First Men’; ‘Mandy’; ‘Mary Magdalene’ (co-composed with Hildur Guðnadóttir); ‘The Butcher, the Whore and the One-Eyed Man’; ‘The Mercy’ John Williams ‘Star Wars: The Last Jedi’; ‘The Post’ Best TV Composer of the Year Volker Bertelmann ‘Gunpowder’ (as Hauschka); ‘Patrick Melrose’ (as Hauschka) Ramin Djawadi ‘Game of Thrones’ (S7); ‘The Strain’ (S4); ‘Westworld’ (S2) Rupert Gregson-Williams ‘The Alienist’ (S1); ‘The Crown’ (S2, co-composed with Lorne Balfe) Mac Quayle ‘9-1-1’ (S1, co-composed with Todd Haberman); ‘American Crime Story: The Assassination of Gianni Versace’; ‘American Horror Story’ (S7); ‘Mr. Robot’ (S3); ‘Pose’ (S1) Adam Taylor ‘Damnation’ (S1); ‘The Handmaid’s Tale’ (S2) Best Original Song written directly for a Film Black Panther from ‘Black Panther’ Music & lyrics by Kendrick Lamar, Kevin Gomringer, Tim Gomringer, Solana Rowe I, Matt Schaeffer, Mark Anthony Spears & Anthony Tiffith Performed by Kendrick Lamar Never Forget from ‘Murder on the Orient Express’ Music by Patrick Doyle. Lyrics by Kenneth Branagh Performed by Michelle Pfeiffer Remember Me from ‘Coco’ Music & lyrics by Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez. Performed by Benjamin Bratt Stand up for Something from: ‘Marshall’ Lyrics by Diane Warren and Common. Music by Diane Warre. Performed by Andra Day ft. Common This is me from ‘The Greatest Showman’ Music & lyrics by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul Performed by Keala Settle & The Greatest Showman Ensemble The World Soundtrack Academy aims at supporting film and television music, sound design, composers and its worldwide promotion. In 18 years time, the membership of the WSAcademy has grown into a group of 183 international film music professionals deciding on the nominees through several rounds of voting. The Academy will announce the nominees for Discovery of the Year, Best Original Score for a Belgian Production and the Sabam Award for Best Young International Composer mid-September. The audience can also nominate their favorite score by voting for the Public Choice Award on the WSAwards website until September 7th 2018.]]>