Connect with us

Cecil Sunkwa-Mills, Cecil Sunkwa-Mills,[/caption] The Ghana Independent Broadcasters Association (GIBA) has elected new executive members to run the affairs of the Association for the next three years. At the Annual General Meeting held in the Ashanti regional capital, Kumasi on 8th June saw Mr. Cecil Sunkwa-Mills, Director of GOtv Ghana Limited being elected onto the council as Member responsible for Pay TV for the association.   The meeting also saw the election of Mr. Andrew Danso Anninkora as the new president of the GIBA. Other executive members elected were, Mr Ernest Boateng, e-TV Ghana, as Vice-President; Mr Matthew Martin Anderson, Aseda FM for Radio; Mr George Fausta Baffoe, Kantinka FM; Mr. Prince Hari Crystal, Crystal TV for Free to Air TV; and Mr Klaus Vonbackustein, GhOne TV, Council Member were also elected to serve as executive members.   Mr. Sunkwa-Mills’ over 16 years’ experience in the African TV and content industry, working with Multichoice Africa and Ghana, the pay TV subscriber management company for DStv and GOtv in Ghana will prove invaluable in his new role. This experience would be key in supporting the developmental issues concerning digital migration, broadcasting and supporting the development of the content industry in Ghana.   Speaking on his new role, he said “we will support the development of new and current industry issues affecting independent broadcasting growth and stability such as digital migration, piracy, broadcast rights and content protection and new media such as Over-The Top (OTT) players, in order to meet the Association’s and allied partners goals to make a positive contribution to the Ghanaian economy.”   He added that the Council will support the new President and team to continuously engage and support government and other regulatory bodies as we work towards digital migration, the broadcasting bill among many other subjects.   The GIBA is an association of authorized and operational non-state owned, private and independent broadcasting organizations formed to promote members’ common interest, and also maintain the independence of the broadcasting sector from all vested interests.]]>