Connect with us

Nana Ama McBrown is Queen of Kumawood

Read Also


Nana Ama McBrown is Queen of Kumawood

I haven’t paid much attention to the Kumawood Awards since its launch for obvious reasons and I am not shocked that after the ceremony was held last Friday, I can’t seem to find a comprehensive list of winners from the event.  In my search for the award winners I came across the list of nominations for the first time on the official website and the categories that had the word Twinglish (a combination of Twi and English), surely gave me a laugh. Should I say the award is joke?

According to scanty reports available, actress Nana Ama McBrown won 4 nods at the maiden edition of the awards held at the Miklin Hotel in Kumasi.  Nana Ama who wrote, produced, directed  and starred in ‘Dee Adee Wo No’ won Best(English Actress) and Best Actress in Leading Role for the movie Dee Adee Wo No. She also picked up Best Traditional Movie and Best Story for the same movie.

On the night, Kwadwo Nkansah picked up two awards. He won Discovery of the Year and Most Promising Star. Valentina Nana Agyeiwaa popularly known as Afia Shwarzenegger also picked two awards for Best TV Comedian (Female) and Best Picture TV Series for her TV series Afia Schwarzenegger. Renowned actor, Kwaku Adu popularly known as Agya Koo and Rose Mensah popularly known as Kyeiwaa picked up Most Favourite Actor and Most Favourite Actress respectively.

Here is the list of winners I managed to compile from various publications, and I must say that I can’t say ‘Full list of winners’ like I usually report, because the official website has more award categories than what you would find below. I guess I will do same as and say more coming soon. Laugh out Loud!

Best TV Series – Afia Schwazneggar

Best Story Movies – De3 Ade3 wo no

Best Costumier- George Attobrah

Best Traditional Movie – De3 Ade3 Wo no

Best Story TV Series – Abrabo Mu Ns3m

Best TV Comedian Male – Kwame Djokoto

Best Original Song – Kyawawa

Best Music Score – Sika Y3 Abrantie3

Best Actress in Leading Role (Hausa )-Hakima Hashim

Best Actor in Leading Role (Hausa )- Siddiq Kamil Maifyadi

Best Soundman – Joyce Osei  (Sika Y3 Abrantie)

Best Visual Effects – ‘Betrayal’ by Hyaan Yim

Best Light man –   Ebo Smith for movie titled ‘Baffour’

Best Screenplay –  Afunumu Ba by James Aboagye

Best Film Editor – Abdullai Razak Amissah & Abass Ibrahim for the Movie ‘Evil Soul’

Actor of the year –  Bill Asamoah

Actress of the Year – Nana Ama McBrown

Discovery of the Year – Kwadwo Nkansah

 Most Promising Star – Kwadwo Nkansah

 Best TV Comedian (Female) – Valentina Nana Agyeiwaa

Most Favourite Actor – Kwaku Adu

Most Favourite Actress – Rose Mensah


1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Ngoswini prosper

    December 8, 2011 at 11:58 pm

    pls the best screenplay was won by Ngoswini Yeam- Wego prosper Ndego who wrote Afunumu ba not James Aboakye. you can cross check that. thanks

Leave a Reply

More in Buzz




Ameyaw TV


Trending Now


Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,298,178 other subscribers

To Top