Connect with us

Radio & TV

Premier League, FA Cup and Serie A preview, 16-22 April 2021

Published

on

SuperSport viewers on DStv and GOtv can look forward to action from the 2020-21 Premier League, FA Cup and Serie Aseasons, with matches scheduled for 16-22 April 2021.

 

SuperSport is your #HomeOfFootball and the ultimate destination for lovers of ‘The Beautiful Game’.

 

The first semifinal in this weekend’s FA Cup action sees Chelsea face Manchester City at Wembley Stadium on the evening of Saturday 17 April. The Blues are looking to return to the FA Cup final for a second successive year (after their defeat to Arsenal last season), while the Citizens were last in the final in 2019, when they famously thrashed Watford 6-0.

 

The teams last met in a Premier League clash at Stamford Bridge earlier this year, with City claiming a 3-1 away win thanks to goals from Ilkay Gundogan, Phil Foden and Kevin De Bruyne.

 

“I trust my players so much. They don’t trust me but I trust them with their quality!” said City boss Pep Guardiola coming into this clash, while Chelsea manager Thomas Tuchel is enjoying his side’s FA Cup adventure but wants “more precision” going forward: “We need to catch the momentum to be sharper, to be closer and to be more aggressive,” said the German tactician.

 

The second semifinal on Sunday 18 April sees Wembley Stadium host a clash between Leicester City and Southampton – the two dark horses for the trophy. The Foxes showed their pedigree by putting out Manchester United in the previous round, but they would do well not to underestimate a Saints side which can afford to put all of their effort and intensity into this clash.

 

“I think we have shown in the FA Cup against Bournemouth, okay only a Championship team, but even there we have shown what made us strong and how we can play,” said Southampton manager Ralph Hasenhuttle. “We expect a much tougher game now against Leicester, but (we must have) the same behaviours and same effort, then we have a chance to win against them.”

 

City manager Brendan Rodgers, meanwhile, is hoping to make history with the Foxes, as the club’s best showing in the FA Cup is four runners-up finishes in 1949, 1961, 1963 and 1969.

 

“We are in the semifinal and we have a chance to get to the final and create history,” Rodgers said. “For the club to get to the final and win the trophy would be really special. It’s a trophy in their history they haven’t won. It’s a tough game in the semifinal but the club has never won the FA Cup so to be able to do something like that will be special.”

 

The pick of matches from the coming week’s Premier League action sees Everton host Tottenham Hotspur in the round opener on the evening of Friday 16 April at Goodison Park. Both teams are fighting to claim a place in European football next season, while the clash of styles between managers Carlo Ancelotti and Jose Mourinho is one for football purists to purr over.

 

“I am sure the motivation is really strong on our side. I think we need a lot of points!” said Ancelotti of the Toffees’ European hopes. “We have to fight. But if we need this amount of points it means the other teams need that amount too. It will be a really exciting challenge for us and am exciting race with a lot of teams involved. Every game will be exciting.”

 

Mourinho, meanwhile, has lamented his side’s recent inconsistency: “The point for me is to set up a team that came here with every intention to win and in the end, a little bit of deja vu in some situations. I believe many of these white hairs, they come with things I’m not used to seeing in football matches at this level.”

 

The weekend also features a must-win game for Newcastle United at home to high-flying West Ham United, Arsenal hosting Fulham for a London derby, and Manchester United hosting Burnley at Old Trafford.

 

The evening of Monday 19 April is headlined by a potential thriller between Leeds United and Liverpool – the teams played out an amazing 4-3 win for the Reds at Anfield when they met back in September 2020 – while the remainder of the week features the FA Cup semifinalists catching up games, as Chelsea host Brighton & Hove Albion on Tuesday, Manchester City visit Aston Villa on Wednesday and Leicester host West Bromwich Albion on Thursday.

 

The headline fixture from Serie A this weekend sees league leaders Internazionale head to Stadio Diego Armando Maradona on the evening of Sunday 18 April to face hosts Napoli.

 

While Inter are looking to push themselves closer to a first Serie A title in more than a decade (their last came back in 2010 as part of the treble they won under Jose Mourinho), Napoli are in a scrap for a berth in next season’s UEFA Champions League with Milan, Atalanta, Juventus, Lazio and Roma.

 

The Nerazzurri boss Antonio Conte knows that the Scudetto is close for his team, but has warned against complacency in this final stretch of the season.

 

“We know full well that Serie A is very difficult and every match is a battle to get the victory. The closer we get to the finish line, the clearer we can see the prize at the end,” said Conte. “Everyone is looking at that direction and we see it from a different angle to the others right now, but we still have it all to do. We’ve achieved nothing yet.”

 

Napoli manager Gennaro Gattuso wants his side to keep their heads down and “think of one opponent at a time” as they focus on their goal of finishing in the top four of the standings. The Neapolitans boss has come under fire from many quarters this season, but a Champions League qualification amidst such tough competition would be a fine achievement.

 

Elsewhere in Serie A this weekend, that top-four battle will see a key clash between Atalanta and Juventus in Bergamo, with even Bianconeri stalwart Giorgio Chiellini admitting that hopes of winning the league are gone.

 

“We have to stay united and do as little talking as possible. Let’s avoid proclamations, instead working day after day. We must go forward and try to do our best so we can achieve an important target for us, a Champions League place,” said the defender.

 

The round also sees Torino scrapping for their lives in a home clash with Roma, Lazio hosting Benevento and Milan looking to claim three vital points at home to Genoa, with Ivorian Franck Kessie set to play a major role for the Rossoneri once again.

 

No rival can compete with SuperSport’s coverage. Our viewers on DStv and GOtv can see all their favourite stars from the African continent dominating in leagues across Europe.

 

Don’t miss the 2020-21 football season on SuperSport on DStv and GOtv. Visit www.dstv.com and www.gotvafrica.comto subscribe or upgrade, and join in on the excitement. And while you’re on the move, you can stream matches on the DStv App.

 

FA Cup semifinal fixtures and broadcast details, 17-18 April 2021

 

Saturday 17 April

18:30 CAT: Chelsea v Manchester City – LIVE on SuperSport Premier League and SuperSport Maximo 1

 

Sunday 18 April

19:30 CAT: Leicester City v Southampton – LIVE on SuperSport Premier League and SuperSport Maximo 1

 

Premier League fixtures and broadcast details, 16-22 April 2021

 

Friday 16 April

21:00 CAT: Everton v Tottenham Hotspur – LIVE on SuperSport Premier League and SuperSport Maximo 1

 

Saturday 17 April

13:30 CAT: Newcastle United v West Ham United – LIVE on SuperSport Premier League and SuperSport Maximo 1

16:00 CAT: Wolverhampton Wanderers v Sheffield United – LIVE on SuperSport Premier League and SuperSport Maximo 1

 

Sunday 18 April

14:30 CAT: Arsenal v Fulham – LIVE on SuperSport Premier League and SuperSport Maximo 1

17:00 CAT: Manchester United v Burnley

 

Monday 19 April

21:00 CAT: Leeds United v Liverpool – LIVE on SuperSport Premier League and SuperSport Maximo 1

 

Tuesday 20 April

21:00: Chelsea v Brighton & Hove Albion – LIVE on SuperSport Premier League and SuperSport Maximo 1

 

Wednesday 21 April

21:15: Aston Villa v Manchester City – LIVE on SuperSport Premier League and SuperSport Maximo 1

 

Thursday 22 April

21:00: Leicester City v West Bromwich Albion – LIVE on SuperSport Premier League and SuperSport Maximo 1

 

Serie A fixtures and broadcast details, 17-18 April 2021

 

Saturday 17 April

15:00 CAT: Crotone v Udinese – LIVE on SuperSport Variety 3

15:00 CAT: Sampdoria v Hellas Verona – LIVE on SuperSport Football and SuperSport GOtv Select 1

18:00 CAT: Sassuolo v Fiorentina – LIVE on SuperSport Football, SuperSport Maximo 2 and SuperSport GOtv Select 1

20:45 CAT: Cagliari v Parma – LIVE on SuperSport Football, SuperSport Maximo 2 and SuperSport GOtv Select 1

 

Sunday 18 April

12:30 CAT: Milan v Genoa – LIVE on SuperSport Football, SuperSport Maximo 2 and SuperSport GOtv Select 1

15:00 CAT: Bologna v Spezia – LIVE on SuperSport Variety 2

15:00 CAT: Lazio v Benevento – LIVE on SuperSport La Liga and SuperSport GOtv La Liga

15:00 CAT: Atalanta v Juventus – LIVE on SuperSport Football, SuperSport Maximo 2 and SuperSport GOtv Select 1

18:00 CAT: Torino v Roma – LIVE on SuperSport Football and SuperSport GOtv Select 1

20:45 CAT: Napoli v Internazionale – LIVE on SuperSport Football, SuperSport Maximo 2 and SuperSport GOtv Select 1

 

Advertisement

People & Lifestyle

Peace Hyde’s ‘Young, Famous and African’, selected as only African Netflix Original to be premiered at Netflix Tudum Global Fan Event

Published

on

“Tudum” is the way to spell out the sound you hear when you press play on Netflix. Tudum is also the name of the streamer’s first ever global fan event.

 

The inaugural Netflix Tudum celebration was held on Sept. 25, with more than 70 of the streamer’s properties represented during a three-hour virtual show, where talent from fan-favorite Netflix series, films and specials revealed exclusive news and unveiled first-look trailers and clips.

 

The fan event also featured interactive panels and conversations with the creators and stars, including some of the Netflix’s most popular returning shows like “Stranger Things,” “Bridgerton,” “The Witcher,” “The Crown,” “Emily in Paris,” “La Casa De Papel” and “Cobra Kai.”

 

British/Ghanaian Media Maven, Peace Hyde who just secured the first Netflix Africa Original reality TV series for Africa with Young, Famous and African where she is both creator and executive producer of the series that follows the glitzy lives and relationships of Pan African superstars, has been selected as the only African title in the prestigious festival alongside the streamers biggest upcoming films and series.

 

This is what Peace had to say about the remarkable achievement on her social media page:

 

When we set out to create #YFA, we just had one goal in mind: to show the world an Africa that they have never seen before. An Africa that can tell its own original stories. Super excited that @Netflix selected ‘YOUNG, FAMOUS and AFRICAN’ as the official African Original Netflix title to represent our continent at the prestigious Netflix global #TUDUM festival where we were among 55 titles including the Witcher, Bridgerton, Stranger Things and Extraction to be premiered for the 2022 slate.

 

I can’t wait for the world to see African excellence in action! So proud to be a part of an incredible team that made this possible! Deeply grateful!

 

YFA is scheduled to show early 2022.

 

Source: Brenda Omawumi
Continue Reading

Radio & TV

Cheque talks about debut album and more on Apple Music’s Africa Now Radio

Published

on

This Week’s Episode Features a Conversation With Cheque, the 5 Hottest Tracks of the Week, Africa Rising and LootLove’s Favourite Track of the Week!

Tune in to Africa Now Radio With LootLove This Sunday, September 26th at 2p Lagos/London / 3p Johannesburg/Paris / 6a LA / 9a NYC on Apple Music 1 and broadcast on Cool FM in Nigeria every Sunday at 6pm.
Nigerian Afrobeats singer-songwriter Cheque joins LootLove via FaceTime on Apple Music 1 to talk about his latest track, “Dangerous (feat. Ayra Starr).” He also discusses his new album, ‘Bravo,’ how branching out into trap boosted his confidence, and how his chart-topping 2020 single “Zoom” helped him earn his parents’ blessing.

The Big 5
LootLove shares the 5 hottest new African tracks of the moment. This week’s selection includes new tracks from DarkoVibes feat. Davido; Joeboy, Basketmouth feat. Buju; Kabza De Small & DJ Maphorisa feat. Ami Faku; and Blxckie feat. Madumane & Chang Cello.

Africa Rising 
South African soul singer-songwriter Lloyiso—the first South African artist signed to Republic Records—is the latest artist featured from the Africa Rising playlist, a campaign which shines a light on the next generation of African superstars, and this week’s show features his two singles “Seasons” and “Dream About You.”  Listen HERE.

Loot Loves
Each week, LootLove chooses her favourite track, taken from one of Apple Music’s African playlists. This week she features South African R&B singer-songwriter Ben September and his single, “Tired”, from Apple Music’s ALT-R&B  playlist. Listen HERE, and find a roundup of all LootLove’s selections on Apple Music’s LootLoves playlist, HERE.

Tune in and listen to the full episode this Sunday, September 26th at 2p Lagos/London / 3p Johannesburg/Paris / 6a LA / 9a NYC on Apple Music 1 at apple.co/_AfricaNow or on Cool FM in Nigeria every Sunday at 6pm.

Cheque on how he feels now that his debut album is out

I feel the same, how I’ve always been feeling when I want to drop a song. I go crazy in my head, I think everything that is possible. So I’m very used to it, I’m used to it now.

I will use ‘Razor – EP’ as an example. When I wanted to drop “Zoom,” two days to the drop, I thought it was the worst song in the world. I thought, “I’m not going to drop it.” That’s how I feel. I feel like, “What? Oh, the mixing engineer. I’ll call everybody.” I’m always very anxious. I think it happens because of my itching success… I was always feeling like, “God, please, I cannot not get it.”

Cheque on being nervous to release trap music

Nobody wanted to try it at that time. Even now, maybe nobody wants to try it. But at that time, that everybody said, “Don’t do trap. Don’t try it. Just leave it. Stick to afrobeats.” I was not really inclined towards that, I was always inclined towards trap. So it was very anxious for me, because I felt like I was one of the only people who wanted to drop that.

Cheque on why he thought now was the time for his debut album

I always knew that the more songs that I have out, the more people will understand me. I cannot be in a box, I don’t have a single box, but I feel like this album is when people will really understand me. With more body of work. I never really felt the singles would describe me enough. I always felt like people misunderstood me.
The project came to me because of the lack of general acceptance of my genre initially. I always thought, “Okay, I’m going to put a trap song, put some afro and let’s see what happens then.” When I dropped it, all the songs that were doing well were the trap songs on the project, on the ‘Razor – EP,’ so I always feel like I just have to put out a project and then people will really understand.

Cheque on the difference between making his EP and making his album

Confidence. When I was making ‘Razor – EP,’ I was very afraid. I was making it from, “Oh God, oh God, if I drop this and nobody likes trap songs, everybody that has ever told me not to do trap are just going to tell me, I told you so.” I didn’t want that to happen, because I knew that if ‘“Zoom” didn’t do what it did, nobody is going to sponsor trap in this country again.

Cheque on gaining acceptance from his parents after “Zoom”

First, my parents approved my music. They was like, “Oh, okay.” It was viral in all the states, definitely all the states in Nigeria. In my hometown, everybody knows me for that. So my mom always called me that when she’s going to her office work, some people stop by and say, “Can we get Cheque’s number?” And that is deep rooted in the village, it was cool too.

Cheque on his definition of success and his global ambitions

Continuous elevation is what I’m after, continuous, always growing, always growing, because I feel like man is never going to be satisfied no matter what we get, we just always want more. So I’m just for continuous elevation, that takes me to the very next level, the next one take me to forever. Worldwide, I want to go worldwide, that’s my aim. I really want to do that, so I don’t want to stay in one place, I want to be everywhere, that’s my aim.

Cheque on collaborating with Ayra Starr on “Dangerous”

I had the song completed, I had this song “Dangerous,” I had it for quite a while, I had it for three months with me, finished, changed the beat, finished it. But I was always feeling like if I was saying, “I know you’re dangerous,” because I was talking to the opposite, somebody, a partner on the song. I just wanted to have somebody to be able to express themselves back at me. Luckily in Nigeria right now, we have great female artists popping up everywhere, which is great. So then I watched one of her Instagram videos, there she was singing so crazy. I was like, “Oh, somebody got vocals here.” But that didn’t move me, then I saw one of her videos, she was all choreographing her dancing. It was very long since I saw that, somebody, a female doing choreography in her songs here. So I just felt like I got to message her instantly. She got me the verse very fast, that was really cool, so it was cool of her too.

Continue Reading

Radio & TV

It’s All You Can Watch Sport this weekend on the DStv App!

Published

on

As a way to reward the growing number of DStv customers accessing their favourite content through the DStv App, DStv is hosting the biggest Open Weekend yet, exclusive to customers on the DStv App.

 

From Friday 24 to Sunday 26 September 2021, customers across the continent on all DStv packages will have unrestricted access to sporting content across some of the best SuperSport channels including WWE, SuperSport La Liga, SuperSport Football, SuperSport Cricket, SuperSport Premier League, SuperSport Golf and SuperSport Tennis among many others. Note that the Open Weekend does not apply to SuperSport Rugby.

 

It’s a Baller Weekend on the DStv App and you need to Up Your Game! Catch all the weekend’s biggest games with unlimited sport on the DStv App.

 

“The way our customers access content is changing and we’re changing along with them. The DStv App has always allowed customers to stream live channels or watch the latest episodes of their favourite shows. For one weekend only, we’re adding all of our SuperSport channels to the mix, so they can kick back, relax and enjoy their favourite sporting fixtures.

 

Some of the unmissable sporting content to catch on this Open Weekend include two Premier League thrillers, as Chelsea take on Manchester City (Saturday 11:30  LIVE on SuperSport Premier League) and Arsenal battle Tottenham Hotspur in the North London derby (Sunday 3:30  LIVE on SuperSport Premier League).

 

Other football highlights include La Liga matches such as Real Madrid v Villarreal (Saturday 19:00  LIVE on SuperSport La Liga), Barcelona v Levante (Sunday 2:15  LIVE on SuperSport La Liga) and Serie A’s Rome Derby, or the ‘Derby della Capitale’, between Lazio and Roma (Sunday 16:00  LIVE on SuperSport Football).

 

Motorsport fans can get their thrills from Formula 1‘s Russian Grand Prix (Qualifying on Saturday at 2:00  and the Race on Sunday at 12:00 , both LIVE on SuperSport Motorsport), while tennis fans can catch the final of the WTA Tour’s Ostrava Open (12:30  LIVEon SuperSport Tennis).

 

Another major highlight is the Ryder Cup, golf’s traditional showdown between Europe and the United States. This year’s event takes place at the Whistling Straights Golf Course in Haven, Wisconsin. You can Catch Day 1 (Friday 12:00 ), Day 2 (Saturday 12:00 ) and Day 3 (Sunday 16:00 ) all LIVE on SuperSport Grandstand and SuperSport Golf.

 

“From when we restarted our qualification process in January, the last eight months have been very positive,” said European team captain Padraig Harrington. “Everybody has been able to play and we have a good system in place that has allowed us to look at everyone and see how they’re doing. There is no question that we are in good shape and everyone associated with Team Europe cannot wait to get to Whistling Straits and get going. Especially me!”

 

Fans of something more visceral and violent can take in UFC 266 (Sunday Prelims 12:00  and Main Card 02:00  LIVE on SuperSport Action), which will be headlined Alexander Volkanovski and Brian Ortega’s grudge match for the UFC Featherweight Championship in the headline bout.

 

“Right now, [Ortega] thinks he understands this chess game we’re about to play. But he’s going to realise – and real quick – that he doesn’t,” warned Volkanovski.

 

And if you want your fighting to come with a fair scoop of ‘kayfabe’ alongside it, then check out the latest edition of WWESmackDown (Saturday 12:00  LIVE on SuperSport Variety 3), where you can catch up on the latest shenanigans heading into Monday’s Pay Per View event, Extreme Rules.

 

Another key highlight is the Berlin Marathon (Sunday 07:00  LIVE on SuperSport Variety 3), which will see 25,000 runners taking part for the biggest road running race anywhere in the world since the start of the Covid-19 pandemic last year.

 

What makes this Open Weekend even rewarding is that with the DStv App, customers will be able to enjoy sporting content that is not always accessible on packages outside of DStv Premium, and they can access this content while on the move through their smartphones or other smart and mobile devices.

 

The DStv App can be downloaded in Google Play and in the App store. For more information on the Open Weekend please visit www.dstvafrica.com.

Continue Reading

Radio & TV

Free SuperSport For All DStv Customers All Weekend on the DStv App!

Published

on

As a way to reward the growing number of DStv customers accessing their favourite content through the DStv App, DStv is hosting the biggest Open Weekend yet, exclusive to customers on the DStv App.

 

From Friday 24 to Sunday 26 September 2021, customers in Ghana on all DStv packages will have unrestricted access to sporting content across some of the best SuperSport channels including WWE, SuperSport La Liga, SuperSport Football, SuperSport Cricket, SuperSport Premier League, SuperSport Golfand SuperSport Tennis among many others. Note that the Open Weekend does not apply to SuperSport Rugby.

 

It’s a Baller Weekend on the DStv App and you need to Up Your Game! Catch all the weekend’s biggest games with unlimited sport on 18 SuperSport channels on the DStv App.

 

“The way our customers access content is changing and we’re changing along with them. The DStv App has always allowed customers to stream live channels or watch the latest episodes of their favourite shows. For one weekend only, we’re adding all of our SuperSport channels to the mix, so they can kick back, relax and enjoy their favourite sporting fixtures,” said Alex Okyere, Managing Director, MultiChoice Ghana.

 

Some of the unmissable sporting content to catch on this Open Weekend include two Premier Leaguethrillers, as Chelsea take on Manchester City (Saturday 11:30am LIVE on SuperSport Premier League) and Arsenal battle Tottenham Hotspur in the North London derby (Sunday 3:30pm LIVE on SuperSport Premier League).

 

Other football highlights include La Liga matches such as Real Madrid v Villarreal (Saturday 7:00pm LIVE on SuperSport La Liga), Barcelona v Levante (Sunday 2:15pm LIVE on SuperSport La Liga) and Serie A’s Rome Derby, or the ‘Derby della Capitale’, between Lazio and Roma (Sunday 4:00pm LIVE on SuperSport Football).

 

Motorsport fans can get their thrills from Formula 1‘s Russian Grand Prix (Qualifying on Saturday at 12:00pm and the Race on Sunday at 12:00pm, both LIVE on SuperSport Motorsport), while tennis fans can catch the final of the WTA Tour’s Ostrava Open (12:30pm LIVE on SuperSport Tennis).

 

Another major highlight is the Ryder Cup, golf’s traditional showdown between Europe and the United States. This year’s event takes place at the Whistling Straights Golf Course in Haven, Wisconsin.

 

“From when we restarted our qualification process in January, the last eight months have been very positive,” said European team captain Padraig Harrington. “Everybody has been able to play and we have a good system in place that has allowed us to look at everyone and see how they’re doing. There is no question that we are in good shape and everyone associated with Team Europe cannot wait to get to Whistling Straits and get going. Especially me!”

 

Fans of something more visceral and violent can take in UFC 266 (Sunday Prelims 12:00am and Main Card 2:00am LIVE on SuperSport Action), which will be headlined Alexander Volkanovski and Brian Ortega’s grudge match for the UFC Featherweight Championship in the headline bout.

 

“Right now, [Ortega] thinks he understands this chess game we’re about to play. But he’s going to realise and real quick that he doesn’t,” warned Volkanovski.

 

And if you want your fighting to come with a fair scoop of ‘kayfabe’ alongside it, then check out the latest edition of WWE SmackDown (Saturday 12:00am LIVE on SuperSport Variety 3), where you can catch up on the latest shenanigans heading into Monday’s Pay Per View event, Extreme Rules.

 

Another key highlight is the Berlin Marathon (Sunday 7:00am LIVE on SuperSport Variety 3), which will see 25,000 runners taking part for the biggest road running race anywhere in the world since the start of the Covid-19 pandemic last year.

 

What makes this Open Weekend even rewarding is that with the DStv App, customers will be able to enjoy sporting content that is not always accessible on packages outside of DStv Premium, and they can access this content while on the move through their smartphones or other smart and mobile devices.

 

The DStv App can be downloaded in Google Play and in the App store. For more information on the Open Weekend please visit www.dstvafrica.com.

Continue Reading

Radio & TV

​​Where to find Ghanaian top actor Adjetey Anang on Showmax

Published

on

Regarded as one of the best actors in Ghana, Adjetey Anang has featured in many beloved Ghanaian titles, including the award-winning thriller A Sting in A Tale and the commercial hit Picture Perfect.

 

On Showmax, you can find him in the five movies and TV shows below, which include two of his latest roles – To Have and To Hold and Dede, his first ever telenovela role.

Cartel: The Genesis

In the Ghanaian action thriller Cartel: The Genesis, an elite unit takes on a powerful drug syndicate as they fight to stop the growing underground narcotics trade in Ghana. Anang plays Fifi, the dedicated agent at the centre of the story, who’s motivated by personal reasons – he lost his brother to addiction – to bring down the cartel, sometimes even at the expense of his own safety.

Directed by Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice nominee Pascal Amanfo, Cartel: The Genesis also stars Joselyn Dumas (Potato Potahto), Prince David Osei (The Dead), Kofi Bucknor (Shampaign), and Fred Kanebi (Adams Apples), among others.

Kintampo

Kintampo is an adventure thriller that follows an ambitious journalist, Stephanie (Sika Osei, Sidechic Gang), and her friends as they journey through the forest of Kintampo to uncover the story of a miracle plant that is rumoured to cure HIV.

Kintampo, which served as Chris Attoh’s directorial debut, stars Anang as Mike, Stephanie’s ex. A former Special Forces soldier, he offers to guide Stephanie and her crew through Kintampo – right after warning them of a mysterious beast that roams the forest.

The film also features Deyemi Okanlawon (Castle & Castle), Kofi Adjorlolo (Aloe Vera), Chris Attoh (Shuga) and Africa Movie Academy Award winner Lydia Forson (To Have and To Hold), among others.

Dede

This Ghanaian telenovela follows the titular Dede (Adomaa Adjeman), a naïve rural girl, whose big dreams are cut short when she’s “sold off” by her stepmother to work as a domestic help in the home of the wealthy Robertson family. There she falls in love with the youngest Robertson son (Dean Amegashie).

In his first telenovela role, Anang plays Dede’s loving and dedicated father, Nii Ocansey, a man who would do anything to protect his daughter, even from her stepmother Felicity (played by Joselyn Dumas).

Dede is directed and produced by award-winning Ghanaian filmmaker Shirley Frimpong-Manso (Love or Something Like That, Shampaign), with Ken Attoh (Devil in the Detail, Potomanto) co-producing.

To Have and To Hold

Adapted from the South African series Unmarried, which also birthed another adaptation in Nigeria, To Have and To Hold follows the lives of three women: Akosua (Lydia Forson, Perfect Picture), Enyonam (Naa Ashorkor, Checkmate) and Kuukua (Zynnel Zuh, When Love Comes Around), as they deal with the challenges that their marriages, relationships, and careers throw at them.

 

Anang plays Enyonam’s partner, Nii, who despite having been with her for nine years, is yet to officially ask for her hand in marriage. Out of a job (and lying about it), and barely making enough to support his family, Nii gives in to gambling and alcoholism, putting his relationship with Enyonam at risk.

 

To Have and to Hold is helmed by legendary Ghanaian filmmaker Ivan Quashigah (Things We Do for Love, YOLO).

 

Roses and Daggers

In the drama series Roses and Daggers, two young women from poor backgrounds, Winifred (Zakia Kunge) and Sesi (Esi Hammond, Nina’s Mahogany), struggle with love and making ends meet in the city. On the other side, Marjorie (Michelle McKinney Hammond), a doting mother and an insecure wife grapples with her husband’s infidelity.

 

Anang plays Marjorie’s son Joshua, who has to deal with his mother’s meddling, even in his love life.

 

For more Adjetey Anang on Showmax, you can also find him in the drama series Table of Men and in the feature film Double Cross.

Continue Reading

Radio & TV

Ebonylife and Sony Pictures Television Announce Àló – A New African Writers Initiative

Published

on

EbonyLife and Sony Pictures Television (“SPT”) have today announced ÀLÓ, a brand-new writers initiative offering a unique platform for writers of African heritage.

The word “ÀLÓ” is from the Yoruba language and translates as ‘once upon a time’. Just like with those words which have opened countless stories for hundreds of years, this is the beginning of an exciting journey to discover the best authentic African story ideas which will inspire and resonate with viewers across the globe.

The ÀLÓ Initiative website will open for fixed periods beginning this Friday (24th) when writers can submit their television scripts and story documents, which will then be reviewed and shortlisted by the ÀLÓ team which is comprised of creative executives from both EbonyLife and SPT.

Entrants can reside outside Africa but must be of African heritage, born in any of the continent’s fifty-four countries or have proven citizenship as a native of the country, or be first generation children. The initiative is open to professionals, freelancers as well as up-and-coming writers, and there are no limitations to the story ideas or scripts. Any theme or story is welcome, but submissions must pay homage to Africa’s unique cultures, diversity, heritage and people. 

Successful candidates will have the opportunity to enter into a series pilot development agreement with SPT and EbonyLife under the ÀLÓ Initiative to create and write a pilot script. Once completed, the projects will be pitched to major international broadcasters for their consideration.

Mo Abudu, Chief Executive Officer, EbonyLife Media, says, “I am really excited about our growing partnership with Sony Pictures Television; from our deal for three scripted series, to our first-look agreement, and now the ÀLÓ Writers’ Initiative. The name of this initiative inspires me, as we chose a word which holds so much personal meaning for me. I am particularly thrilled about the Writers’ Initiative because it is in line with our continent-wide vision to harness and grow our creative economy. It is focused on global storytelling that is authentically African and that gives African writers access to the biggest international broadcasters in the world.  It is a dream come true for me.”

Nina Lederman, EVP Global Scripted Development for Sony Pictures Television, says “The ÀLÓ initiative is born out of SPT and EbonyLife’s shared passion for great storytelling. We know from our many, many conversations developing this initiative with Mo and her team at EbonyLife that there are countless stories from across the African continent yet to be told. We hope that this provides a unique platform to writers of African heritage with a story they want to bring to the world.”

The ÀLÓ Initiative will first open for submissions between September 24th and November 5th 2021, with a further six-week period to be confirmed at a later date. Internationally, the initiative it is open to submissions from the US, Canada, the UK and EU, Australia and New Zealand, and Africa. It hopes to expand to include further regions for future submission periods.

Full terms and conditions and eligibility criteria can be found on the ÀLÓ Initiative website here https://www.alowritersinitiative.com

 

Continue Reading

Win

Watching gossip makes playing online a much more enjoyable experience. A good show can certainly improve any immersion. The bitcoin casino scene has exceptional games available for you to play while watching your shows. Crypto casino is a great way to mix gaming, and gossip, as you can watch all your shows, and it will be an enjoyable experience.

Trending