Connect with us

Video Blog: Bye-bye Zanzibar, reviews and winners of #ZIFF2017 Awards


Video Blog: Bye-bye Zanzibar, reviews and winners of #ZIFF2017 Awards

In my final video blog on my visit to Tanzania for the 2017 Zanzibar International Film Festival, I share my last days on the beautiful island from movie screenings to workshops and my journey back home. 

The Zanzibar International Film Festival wrapped up it 8-days of fun and educational activities with its Awards Ceremony on Saturday. The various juries presented all of its awards, from the annual Silver and Golden Dhows to a host of new awards including the Trace Mziki East African Music Video Award and the Adiaha Award for Best Female African Documentary Filmmaker.



Film School Award

The Final Border – David Wayne Smith (AFDA South Africa)


Best East African Talent Award: Kony: Order from Above, Steven Ayeni (Uganda) – $1000

Best African Film: Noem My Skollie/ Call me Thief, Daryne Joshua (South Africa)

Chairperson / Bi Kidude Award

White Potion: Ash Mswaki, (Tanzania/Turkey)

Adiaha Award for Best African Female Documentary Sponsored by O MESS (Nigeria) and Red Flag Content Relations (South Africa) ($2000)

The African Who Wanted to Fly: Samantha Biffot (Gabon/Belgium/France)

Emerson of Zanzibar Foundation Award

Kokota: Islet of Hope: Craig Norris

European African Film Festival Award (1000 Euros)

T-Junction: Amil Shivji (Tanzania)

Sembene Ousmane Awards ($2000 each)

The Hangman: Zwelethu Radebe (South Africa)

Maria: Kamau Wandungu (Kenya)

Gerretta: Mantegaftot Silehshi

Trace Mziki East African Music Video AwardWinner to receive video produced by Wanene Productions.

Eddy Kenzo – Jubilation (Uganda)

Bongo Movie Awards presented by Comnet

Best Actress: Hawa Ally in T-Junction

Best Actor: Ibrahim Osward in Hadithi za Kumekucha: Tuna

Best Editor: Freddy Feruzi: Genge

Best Cinematographer: Freddy Feruzi: Genge

Best Screenplay/Writer: Kiumeni, Ernest Napoleon and Daniel Manege

Best Film in Sound: Homecoming; Seko Shamte

Best Director: Nicholas Marwa; Kiumeni

Best Feature Film: T-Junction; Amil Shivji


Best Short Film: The Hangman, Zwelethu Radebe (South Africa)

Best Animation: TIS, Said Hamich (France)

Best Documentary: Mama Colonelle, Dieude Hamadi (DRC)

Best Feature from Dhow Countries: Half Ticket, Samit Kakkad (India)

Best Short from Dhow Countries: Azaad, Rahul V. Chitella (India)

Best International Film: Wallay, Berni Goldbat (Burkino Faso / Qatar)

Best African Film: Watu Wote / All of Us, Katja Benrath (Kenya)

Golden Dhow for Best Feature Film presented by Showmax ($3000)

Noem My Skollie/ Call me Thief, Daryne Joshua (South Africa)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Buzz

Subscribe to Ameyaw TV

Where are they now?


Who wins Ghana’s Hottie of the Year?

Gh Hottie of the year

Gh Hottie of the year

Nigeria’s Rich Kids of Instagram

Follow Me On Facebook


Latest Stories

You may like

To Top