Connect with us


Daily Graphic, GNA, JoyNews and others win big at 2018 GJA Awards: Full list of winners



The 70th-anniversary celebration of the Ghana Journalists Association (GJA) was climaxed with an award ceremony, Saturday, at the Kempinski Gold Coast Hotel in Accra.

Aimed at honoring outstanding journalists and media shows which had excelled in the field of journalism, the 24th edition saw Doreen Hammond of Graphic Communications Group Limited emerge the Overall Best Journalist for the Year 2018.

Honorary awards were also presented to a number of personalities including Sir Sam Jonah and Dr Charles Wereko Brobbey.

Below is the list of the award winners in the competitive category

• Doreen Hammond (Graphic) – Best Journalist for the Year 2018

• Doreen Hammond (Daily Graphic) – Best Columnist

• Rebecca Kwei (Daily Graphic) – Best HIV/AIDS Reporter

• Maxwell Akalaare Adombilla (Graphic Business) – Best Economic and Financial Reporter (Print)

• Nana Konadu Agyeman (Daily Graphic) – Best Transport and Road Safety Reporter (Print)

• Moses Dotse Aklorbortu (Graphic Business) – Best Oil and Gas Reporter

• Maclean Kwofi (Graphic Business) – Best Maritme Reporter (Print)

• Kester Aburam Kuranchie (Graphic Business) – Best Investigative Reporter

• Edmund Smith-Asante (Daily Graphic) – Best Tourism Reporter (Print)

• Charles Andoh (The Mirror) – Best Education Reporter (Print)

• Charles Benoni Okine (Graphic Business) – Best Telecommunication Reporter (Print)

• Daily Graphic – Best Newspaper

• Citi Breakfast Show – Best Morning Show (English)

• Citi FM – Best Radio Station (English)

• Samuel A. Akapule (Ghanaian Times) – Best Rural Reporter

• Kingsley Hope (Ghanaian Times) – Best Sports Reporter (Print)

• John Vigah (Ghanaian Times) – Best Feature Writer (Print)

• Geoffrey Buta (The Spectator) – Best Photo Journalist

• Alberto Mario Noretti (Ghanaian Times) – Best Small and Medium Scale Reporter (Print)

• Abigail Annor (Ghanaian Times) – Best News Reporter (Print)

• Kwaku Osei Bonsu (GNA) – Winner of Dr G.T. Anim Award for Ethics in Journalism

• Prosper Kuorsoh (GNA) – Best Agric Reporter (Print)

• Albert Futukpor (GNA) Best Water, Sanitation and Hygiene Reporter (Online)

• Albert Oppong Andah (GNA) – Best Environment Reporter (Electronic)

• A.B. Kafui Kanyi (GNA) – Best Child Protection and Participation (Electronic)

• GNA – Best Online News

• Janet Abena Quainoo (GTV) – Best Rural Reporter (Electronic)

• Ibrahim Oppong Boateng (GTV) – Best Court and Crime Reporter

• Clara Mlano (GTV) – Best Reporter in Illegal Mining (Galamsey)

• GTV – Best Democracy and Peace Building Television Station

• GTV – Best Radio and TV Programme in Ga, Ewe

• Portia Gabor (TV3) – Best Female Journalist

• Portia Gabor (TV3) – Best Transport And Road Safety (Electronic)

• Peter Quao Adator (TV3) – Best Sports Reporter (Electronic)

• Evelyn Tengmaa (TV3) – Best Political Reporter

• TV3’s New Day – Best Television Morning Show (English)

• Ina Thalia Quansah (Joy News/Radio Maxx) – Most Promising Journalist

• Seth Kwame Boateng (Joy News) – Best Human Rights Reporter

• Seth Kwame Boateng (Joy News) Best in Features (TV)

• Justice Baidoo (Joy News) – Best Telecommunication (Electronic)

• Beryl Ernestina Richter (Joy News) – Best Health Reporter (TV)

• Nabil Ahmed Rufai (GHOne TV) – Best Education Reporter (Electronic)

• Alice Aryeetey (GHOne TV) – Best Media Advocate for Disability for the Year

• Alice Aryeetey (GHOne TV) – Best TV News Reporter

• GHOne TV – Best Television Station (English)

• Kofi Amoah (TV Africa) – Best Reporter in Disability

• Grace Nana Esi (Oman FM) – Best Maritime Reporter (Electronic)

• Adu Gyamfi Marfo (Kingdom FM) – Child Protection and Participation (Radio)

• Kabu Nartey (GIJ) – Best Student Journalist

• Anim Addo (UTV) – Best Agric Reporter (TV)

• UTV’s Heritage Ghana – Best TV Programme in Akan

• Peace FM’s Kookrokoo – Best Morning Show (Akan)

• UTV – Best Television Station (Akan)

• Peace FM – Best Radio Station (Akan)

• Di Asa on Atinka TV – Best Arts and Entertainment Programme

• Best Regional FM Stations – West End Radio, Bright FM, Radio Savannah, URA Radio, Radio Upper West, Space FM, Classic FM, Hello FM, Swiss FM –

Photos: The Most Dazzling and Unforgettable Red Carpet Looks of 2019