Connect with us


Great African achievers honoured at Millennium Excellence Awards



The 2010 edition of the prestigious Millennium Excellence Awards was a celebration of African and international achievers; with the coveted Gold Coast Award being conferred on the Chairman of the Ghana’s Electoral Commission, Dr Kwadwo Afari-Djan. He was rewarded for having presided over three successful elections in Ghana.

This year the ceremony came in two folds — the Millennium Excellence Awards, meant to reward Ghanaian individuals and institutions, and the Lifetime Africa Achievement Award (LAAP), intended to recognize Africans/non-Africans for their contribution to and outstanding roles in Africa’s development. Nigerian businessman, Amaechi Ndili awarded with the Black Star of Africa prize, the highest in the LAAP category, for his entrepreneurial excellence.

In the Millennium Excellence category held at the Accra International Conference Centre, 30 Ghanaian institutions and individuals, apart from Dr Afari-Djan, were recognized, including the Institute of Economic Affairs (IEA) and the Institute for Democratic Governance (IDEG), each winning the Democratic Development award.

Other notable winners were Prof Kwabena Frimpong-Boateng, (Medical Leadership); Mr Albert Ocran, (Inspirational Motivation); Major General Henry Anyidoho (retd), (Peace Promotion); Zoomlion Ghana Limited, (Industrial Leadership); Togbe Afede XIV, (Chieftaincy Leadership); Prof Kofi Awoonor, (Literature Development), Mrs Doreen Owusu Fianko, the former Executive Director of the Ghana Tourist Board; Mr Patrick Saab Saref, the Chief Executive of the Royal Airport Hotel, and Madam Bella Ahu, each for Tourism Promotion.

For the LAAP category, which was held at the Banquet Hall of the State House on the theme, ‘Repositioning Africa — New Values, New Strategies”, nine individuals were given various awards, including Archbishop Desmond Tutu (South Africa), Eradication of Disease in Africa; Dr Ismail Serageldin (Egypt), Scientific Research in Africa; Prof. Wole Soyinka (Nigeria), African Cultural and Traditional Preservation; Mr Cyril Ramaphosa (South Africa), African Economic Development.

The rest were Sir Dr Chief Gabriel Igbinedion (Nigeria), Leadership in African Chieftaincy; Lord Paul Boateng (Britain), Action for Africa; Mr James Wolfonsen (USA), Sustainable Development in Africa, and Asha Hagi (Somalia), African Peace.