Connect with us
NOT IN USE

Radio & TV

Premier League, La Liga & Serie A review, 26-29 October 2018

Published

on

FC Barcelonas Luis Suarez L scores FC Barcelona’s Luis Suarez (L) scores the 2-0 lead from the penalty to Real Madrid’s Thibaut Courtois (C) during a Spanish LaLiga soccer match between FC Barcelona and Real Madrid at the Camp Nou stadium in Barcelona, north eastern Spain, 28 October 2018. EPA/ENRIC FONTCUBERTA[/caption] The fate of Real Madrid manager Julen Lopetegui in the wake of their 5-1 loss to Barcelona in ‘El Clasico’ is the dominant news after a busy weekend of football in La Liga, Serie A and the Premier League exclusively available only on SuperSport.   At the time of writing Lopetegui remained in charge of ‘Los Blancos’ but it is widely expected that he will be relieved of his position following a heavy defeat to Barca at Camp Nou on Sunday evening which leaves Real seven points off the pace.   Yet the 5-1 score line (featuring a hat-trick from Luis Suarez, in the absence of Lionel Messi) was perhaps not a fair reflection of the game, with Madrid hitting the woodwork when the score was just 2-1 in favour of the Catalans – had Luka Modric’s strike gone in, the game could well have turned out very differently.   “It is hard, a defeat is always hard, even more at Barcelona. We have the feeling that we could have turned the game around, we had chances to equalise, and go on and win,” said Lopetegui in his post-match press conference.   The under-fire former Spain coach added, “”I feel sad at the moment, but with full strength to remain in charge of this group. This is a tough blow, but I am strong enough to know everything can be turned around. There is a long way to go, and I have a lot of faith in this group of players.”   Elsewhere in Spain, Thomas Partey’s Atletico Madrid shrugged off their heavy midweek loss in the UEFA Champions League to defeat Real Sociedad 2-0, Iago Aspas scored a hat-trick as Celta de Vigo hammered Eibar 4-0, and Mubarak Wakaso helped Deportivo Alaves to a 2-1 home win over Villarreal which sees them placed second behind Barca.   The big news in England was a return to winning form for Manchester United, who edged Everton 2-1 at Old Trafford thanks to goals from Paul Pogba and Anthony Martial, while Liverpool and Chelsea have moved into first and second positions after they racked up impressive wins at home to Cardiff City (4-1 – featuring goals from Sadio Mane [2] and Mohamed Salah) and away to Burnley (4-0) respectively.   Arsenal’s Pierre Emerick Aubameyang continued his scoring spree in a 2-2 draw away to Crystal Palace on Sunday, while Manchester City will fancy their chances of reclaiming pole position when they play away to Tottenham Hotspur at Wembley Stadium on Monday night on SS3 (DStv Channel 203).   In Italy, Cristiano Ronaldo scored twice as Juventus came from behind to win 2-1 away to Empoli to continue their control at the top of Serie A. The Portuguese’s performance levels remain astonishing and Juve manager Max Allegri believes he is the kind of player who will inspire for generations to come.   “The goal was a moment of magic from an extraordinary player and it’s something kids will try to copy in the schoolyard,” said Allegri. “It’s much easier to get kids passionate about that rather than explaining tactics to them.   “I continue to maintain there is too much theory in Italian football schools and it pains me to see kids go to training and not even enjoy themselves. We’ve got to focus on the simple things in life first.”   Elsewhere in the Italian top flight, Kevin-Prince Boateng was on target late in the game to help Sassuolo salvage a 2-2 draw at home to Bologna (who featured a goal from Ibrahim M’Baye), Raman Chisbah netted in Frosinone’s 3-0 win at SPAL, Franck Kessie’s Milan defeated Sampdoria in a five-goal thriller and Kalidou Koulibaly’s Napoli lost ground in the title after they were held 1-1 by Roma.   Serie A will wrap up its round on Monday night as Kwadwo Asamoah and Keita Balde’s Internazionale head to Rome to face Lazio.   Premier League results & fixtures, 27-29 October 2018   Saturday 27 October Brighton & Hove Albion 1-0 Wolverhampton Wanderers Fulham 0-3 Bournemouth Liverpool 4-1 Cardiff City Southampton 0-0 Newcastle United Watford 3-0 Huddersfield Town Leicester City 1-1 West Ham United   Sunday 28 October Burnley 0-4 Chelsea Crystal Palace 2-2 Arsenal Manchester United 2-1 Everton   Monday 29 October All times GMT 8pm: Tottenham Hotspur v Manchester City   Serie A results & fixtures, 27-29 October 2018   Saturday 27 October Atalanta 3-0 Parma Empoli 1-2 Juventus Torino 1-1 Fiorentina   Sunday 28 October Sassuolo 2-2 Bologna Cagliari 2-1 Chievo Genoa 2-2 Udinese SPAL 0-3 Frosinone Milan 3-2 Sampdoria Napoli 1-1 Roma     La Liga results, 26-28 October 2018   Friday 26 October Real Valladolid 1-1 Espanyol   Saturday 27 October Girona 2-1 Rayo Vallecano Athletic Bilbao 0-0 Valencia Celta de Vigo 4-0 Eibar Levante 2-0 Leganes Atletico Madrid 2-0 Real Sociedad   Sunday 28 October Getafe 2-0 Real Betis Barcelona 5-1 Real Madrid Deportivo Alaves 2-1 Villarreal Sevilla 2-1 Huesca]]>

Advertisement

Radio & TV

It’s Fun Time This Week On Miss Malaika Ghana ’22!!

Published

on

WhatsApp Image 2022 10 01 at 3.45.18 PM

“When you have confidence, you can have a lot of fun. And when you have fun, you can do amazing things” – Joe Namath. (more…)

Continue Reading

Radio & TV

All You Should Know About Showmax’s First Nigerian Original Limited Drama Series, Diiche!

Published

on

unnamed 4 3

Showmax’s first-ever Nigerian original limited drama series, Diiche, premieres exclusively on the platform today, September 29, 2022. (more…)

Continue Reading

Buzz

African fantasy series Blood Psalms premieres on Showmax with glowing reviews

Published

on

Khanya Mkangisa as Nymph in Blood Psalms
The first two episodes of Blood Psalms, the first Showmax Original fantasy series, are now streaming. Early reviews are glowing, withTVMzansi calling it, “Without doubt, the best TV show ever created in Africa”; Leon van Nierop “the biggest and most spectacular production of a local series yet” and TimesLive “African fantasy at its finest.”
Set in ancient Africa, the action-packed epic follows Princess Zazi (Bokang Phelane) as she battles a world-ending prophecy to navigate her people through ancient curses, long-standing tribal vendettas and the wrath of the gods.
“Watching it feels as thrilling as being an astronaut exploring new worlds,” says Genevieve Terblanche from tvplus. “The sheer scope of Blood Psalms is breathtaking.”
On TVSA, Movies And Things With Tha-Bang writes, “What Jahmil XT Qubeka and Layla Swart have achieved with Blood Psalms is something that will go down on SA TV history books like the Yizo Yizo and Intersexions of the world, series that came and changed the game when folks least expected it.”
Swart and Qubeka were responsible for South African Oscar entries Knuckle City and Sew The Winter To My Skin. Qubeka also directed Of Good Report, which won seven SAFTAs, including Best Film and Best Director, and Stillborn, which won the SAFTA for Best Short Film.
They’ve assembled an incomparable cast, with nine SAFTA winners – Bongile Mantsai, Hamilton Dlamini, Hlubi Mboya, Mothusi Magano, S’dumo Mtshali, Siv Ngesi, Thishiwe Ziqubu, Warren Masemola and Zolisa Xaluva – and all your faves, from Enhle Mbali Mlotshwa to Lemogang Tsipa, Faith Baloyi to Faniswa Yisa, Mandisa Nduna to Niza Jay, Richard Lukunku to Sello Maake Ka Ncube, Thabo Rametsi to Thando Thabethe, Thembikile Komani to Zikhona Sodlaka, and many more.
We caught up with the most ambitious filmmakers in Africa to find out more about Yellowbone Entertainment’s first Showmax Original, which is already topping the charts on Africa’s homegrown streaming service:
Where did the idea for Blood Psalms come from?
Qubeka: I was just always extremely curious about our continent. The question mark around the history of Africa, and where we come from, has been a great platform for us to be able to build this world.
Swart: I think Blood Psalms is a yearning more than anything else. It’s a look at a history that has never been depicted before, that we always wanted to see.
When is Blood Psalms set?
Qubeka: 11 000 years ago. Blood Psalms is an action adventure series that invites us into a world that no longer exists, a time before the Great Flood changed the world.
Swart: Blood Psalms draws from elements of a multitude of African mythologies and looks at various different tribes in Season 1 – the Akachi, the Uchawi, the Ku’ua, the Chini, and Great Nziwemabwe – as they migrated south from Kemet, which is now Egypt, and formed their cultures.
Qubeka: These tribes moved southward, running away from the calamity that was happening in Kemet and Kush, which is what we now know as northern Sudan. There are remnants even today that show that there was a great civilization and a great culture that comes from that space.
Which tribe do you focus on the most?
Swart: The tribal focus in season one is House Akachi, run by the eccentric King Letsha [four-time SAFTA winner Mothusi Magano].
Qubeka: We look at this world through the eyes of his daughter, a young Akachi princess by the name of Zazi [Bokang Phelane], as she goes on her own quest to find a sense of self in a rapidly evaporating world.
How do you feel about the inevitable Game of Thrones comparisons?
Qubeka: If they want to call it the African Game of Thrones, I’ll take that mantle on. If you love Game of Thrones, you’re gonna love this show.
But what we really want to do is create heroic archetypes for the African child. If you look across the entire landscape of cinema and television, there are no archetypes for the African child.
Swart: It’s a pioneering show that attempts to redefine our very perception of our identity as Africans. What we’re trying to do is to reclaim the continent’s history from an African perspective. The goal, for us, is to ensure that the golden thread of Africa’s stunning history really shines.
Qubeka: If we don’t start to project an image of how we see ourselves, someone else is going to do that for us.
There are very few references for Africa 11,000 years ago. Was this freeing or challenging? 
Swart: Building a world that doesn’t exist has been enormously creative. Doing something set 11,000 years ago has really given us all collectively the scope to just play.
But it’s also enormously challenging. Every single costume, every single piece of the set had to be conceived and made from scratch.
Qubeka: I’m very excited to see how audiences engage this world. There’s a lot of things that people are going to look at and be like, ‘What are you talking about? Did they have guns in that time? Do they have electricity?’ There’s all sorts of things that we challenge in terms of conventions, of what people understand of our glorious past.
Where did you shoot in the Eastern Cape?
Qubeka: So the Akachi Citadel actually sits above the Hole in the Wall but we shot parts of the Citadel in different locations. For example, the big dam in Graaff-Reinet is incorporated as the Citadel dam, situated at the back end of the city.
What I really loved about shooting in the Eastern Cape is that it just brought a whole other dimension to what we were intending to achieve.
The epic scale of places like Coffee Bay and the Valley of Desolation – just the size and scale of these places – makes you feel so insignificant, so small, so we’re able to get an essence of what it could have been like 11,000 years ago on this continent.
Why should audiences watch your show?
Qubeka: It’s a sweeping epic adventure that doesn’t hold back. It is definitely a large canvas, one that I personally have not seen from this continent. This thing is big.
Now streaming, first on Showmax
Shot in the Eastern Cape, Gauteng and North West provinces, Blood Psalms is a Showmax Original in partnership with CANAL+, the Department of Trade, Industry and Competition, the Eastern Cape Economic Development Corporation (ECDC), the National Film and Video Foundation (NFVF) and the MultiChoice Innovation Fund, which supports South Africa’s most exciting entrepreneurs, enabling them to bring their unique, innovative and creative business ideas to life.
Showmax will drop new episodes of Blood Psalms every Wednesday until the end of November 2022.
Join Swart for an InstaLive on producing as part of the Showmax x Actor Spaces masterclasses at 6pm on Thursday, 29 September 2022 at https://www.instagram.com/actorspaces/.
Watch Layla Swart’s Showmax x Actor Spaces masterclass on producing:
Add Blood Psalms to your Showmax watchlist:
Watch the new trailer:
Join the conversation:
#BloodPsalmsShowmax
Continue Reading

Radio & TV

Showmax confirms The Real Housewives of Nairobi, slated to begin production in September

Published

on

output.auto 4
African streaming service Showmax, in partnership with NBCUniversal Formats, is bringing The Real Housewives to Nairobi.
The Real Housewives of Nairobi, which will debut in 2023 as a Showmax Original, is the 22nd international version of The Real Housewives format and the sixth to be adapted in Africa.
The Real Housewives of Nairobi builds on the success of other African franchises like The Real Housewives of Johannesburg, which was one of the 10 most streamed domestic series on Showmax in 2019, as well as Durban (RHOD) and Lagos (RHOLagos), which both broke records on Showmax and were trending #1 on Twitter in their respective countries.
Denise Mwende, Showmax Content Specialist in East Africa, said: “As an African streaming platform, Showmax is dedicated to telling diverse African stories, and celebrity reality TV remains a genre that excites our viewers across Africa. We love to watch other people’s lives, and The Real Housewives of Nairobi is a chance to get a much closer look at Nairobi’s elite.”
The Real Housewives of Nairobi is being produced by Eugene Mbugua’s D&R Studios (formerly Young Rich Television), the production company behind Kenya’s biggest docu-reality shows and Showmax favourites like the 2021 Kalasha nominee Sol Family; the 2021 Kalasha nominee and 2022 Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice (AMVCA) nominee This Love; 2022 reality series Kyallo Kulture; 2018 Kalasha nominee Stori Yangu and 2019 Kalasha winner Our Perfect Wedding.
“The team at D&R Studios is very stoked about the opportunity to produce The Real Housewives of Nairobi,” said Mbugua. “We’ve had a long and good relationship with Showmax, and are very excited to now be working together on an international format. We’ve gone through a very rigorous process of being shortlisted and are now geared up and ready to start production.”
“D&R Studios already has a portfolio of celebrity reality content like Sol Family, This Love and Kyallo Kulture under their belt. They understand the structure, and are willing to work hand in hand with our local teams and NBCUniversal to bring the Nairobi franchise to life,” added Denise Mwende.
On what the audience can expect with Nairobi, following the success of other African franchises, Mbugua said, “There’s quite a bit of pressure from the audience to deliver a stellar show but if what we’ve seen in the casting process is anything to go by, Nairobi promises to hold its own. Fans can expect surprises in everything, from the choice of the cast to the storylines. The Real Housewives of Nairobi is going to be the show to watch.”
As you wait for The Real Housewives of Nairobi, you can binge-watch these African franchises on Showmax: The Real Housewives of Lagos, The Real Housewives of Durban S1-2 and The Real Housewives of Johannesburg S1-2.
Continue Reading

Radio & TV

This Week On Miss Malaika Ghana – Our Culture, Our Heritage!!

Published

on

This Week On Miss Malaika Ghana – Our Culture, Our Heritage!!

In an immature society culture is an import; for a mature one it is a native manufacture which eventually becomes an export. – Northrop Frye. (more…)

Continue Reading

Radio & TV

Apple Music’s Africa Now Radio features K.O this Friday !

Published

on

mail 3

This Week’s Episode Features a Conversation With K.O, the 5 Hottest Tracks of the Week, Africa Rising and Dadaboy Ehiz’s Favourite Track of the Week! (more…)

Continue Reading

Trending